I Was Sad for 2 Days: Train I Ride by Paul Mosier (Book Review-Spoiler Free)

Title: Train I Ride
Author: Paul Mosier
Rating: 4 Stars
Summary: Rydr is on a train heading east, leaving California, where her gramma can’t take care of her anymore, and traveling to Chicago to live with an unknown relative. She brings with her a suitcase, memories both happy and sad, and a box containing something very important.

As Rydr meets her fellow passengers and learns their stories, her own past begins to emerge. And as much as Rydr may want to forget about her life in California, on the train she finds that maybe her past can help her deal with her present. And maybe hope and forgiveness are all around her and, most importantly, within her, if she’s willing to look for it.


I made a toast to myself at the beginning of the year that I won’t be falling for questionable, and toxic-looking guys over the internet and to review more books, to at least post 10 reviews even for the entire year. I already failed the former so let’s just hope for the best at this point I guess.

“Train I Ride” is a book I was tempted to get with my Christmas money because 1.) The cover is cute, I like covers like that, and 2.) It promised emotions, which I went ahead and assumed to be sad emotions, which I like because I’m unable to let out emotions, the sad types these days.

And it truly was an emotional read about found family, coming of age, and of course the trope we all love and hate- right person, wrong time. From the characters, the world build-up, the storyline, and writing. It won’t make you cry, or it will, but it will definitely make you sad because of the setting that the author created for the characters.

Rydr, our protagonist, she had this aura of mystery. She comes off as someone who is tough, doesn’t talk to anyone else, doesn’t like anyone else. At first, I do find it hard to read the story because of her brooding character, but then her story was told in a very natural yet detailed way. Coming from a broken family with an absent father, an addicted mom, and a grandma who doesn’t really like her, you can see why she keeps it to herself but however, she still tries and makes herself available to understand other people’s feelings.

The rest of the passengers of the train also had their own stories to tell, which gave them layers to their character even if they are just side ones. I love their interactions, especially Rydr’s to the boy scouts, who really took Rydr under their wing and made her feel less lonely. Then, you also have Dorothea, who assisted Rydr throughout the ride and essentially, somewhat became her guardian. It’s nice to see Rydr look up at someone who can be a parental figure, and surely delivered.

The setting, when I saw the premise of the book, is also something I found quite challenging to write about. It’s a train, what can you do, on a train, besides being on a train?

Paul Mosier managed to make being on a train a life lesson, love that.

More to the writing, I love and hate it at the same time. The writing of the characters feels mature and poignant, which is great don’t get me wrong, but the fact that they’re kids seems a bit off. I understand that Rydr went through a lot and she grew up under the care of not the best people, so their actions taking upon the effect on Rydr is plausible, but the way she talks feels like she was born back in the Victorian era.

This was the main and I think, the only problem I have with this book. It comes off as preachy from time to time, too preachy even. There are certain situations where life lessons are being forced out of simple interactions, which made it hard for me to read the book, but fortunately, those types of writing didn’t last long and by the end, it comes off as more natural and the flow is much smoother.

All in all, I would recommend this book to those who want to read a book in one sitting while feeling heavy about themselves. I do have to say, that I think I read this book in possibly the best time in my life. I’m confused with where my life is going and my initial path or plans didn’t fall through, but this book gave me some sort of comfort. I don’t really know how else to explain it best, but yes, it’s a comforting read despite the heavy topics it dived into.

That’s all for this review! I will be seeing all of you soon, I swear.


Bookstagram@grimreadex
Goodreads: @grimreaderx
Booktok: @lostdandelion
Storygraph: grimreaderx

Email: grimreadercontact@gmail.com

Personal Instagram: @hailzel

2 thoughts on “I Was Sad for 2 Days: Train I Ride by Paul Mosier (Book Review-Spoiler Free)”

Leave a comment